Language barriers

Sometimes I feel really useless because I never picked up my mother’s native Cook Islands tongue.  I keep saying that I will try to learn but the truth is, I haven’t ever really applied myself to the task.

However, I might be getting closer to the beginnings as I have ordered some resources which arrived in the mail recently.

I have opened the box and there’s lots of stuff to look at, so I will do that soon.

It’s funny though when I think of my small inadequacies… I read a post recently which puts my efforts into the classification of “pitiful”.

If you get a chance, check out this link.  Amazing article and gives some insight into the problems around language retention and hence, culture.

HOW MANY LANGUAGES ARE THERE IN THE PACIFIC?

Leave a Reply

